Justin Bazan, OD Park Slope Eye
(- I Care -) Your Eyes Advocate

Interviewing a Doctor? Getting interviewed by a Doctor?

How much do you care about your eyes?  How much do you care about who is taking care of them?  Does it equate?

It can be very frustrating not to have your doctor’s qualities match up with you unique personality and requirements.  What is one to do?

The following is a story of a patient who was conducting interviews of optometrist to find the best match. I for one would LOVE this idea to catch on…..well maybe not a true interview, but I would happily encourage people to research the doctor first. Personally, if you have any specific questions after you have done your research on me, I would happily answer them.

A colleague posted:

“Today, a woman showed up to the office without an appointment. She asked to see me. As I was between patients, I asked her how I could help. She told me that she wanted to interview me. She is looking for an optometrist to help her with her eyes.

She has tried to interview six optometrists in the area.

I was a little stunned but I thought it could be interesting. In 20 years, I have never been interviewed. So, she asked several questions, how long had I been in practice, where I went to school, did I see children, etc?

I answered every question. When she was done, I asked her if I could interview her. She asked why, and I mentioned that I wasn’t sure that I wanted to be her doctor. She looked a little surprised. But, she said ok.

I asked her: did she come in for her appointments regularly and on time, did she pay her bills on time, etc.

Finally, she looked at me and said ok I will schedule an appoint for me and my family. I started to tease and tell her I wasn’t sure she passed the interview but we might try it. I think she thought I was kidding around. I wasn’t!”

Park Slope Eye is located in Brooklyn, NY.  For more info contact Justin Bazan, OD, the optometrist of Park Slope Eye, at Dr.Bazan@ParkSlopeEye.com or visit www.ParkSlopeEye.com Also, check us out on Yelp!, Twitter and FaceBook.

Bookmark and Share

One Response to “Interviewing a Doctor? Getting interviewed by a Doctor?”

  1. I have been selected as an anchor af a Tv channel. My duty is to take interview of doctors of various fields. How should I take the interviews? Please help me.


Leave a Reply

